In common with Charles Haddon Spurgeon

Not when I first became a Christian but a few years (2 possibly) after, the Truth had settled and then I seemed to want to tell everyone about Christianity. Hoping this post isn’t going to be me reminiscing about the good ol’ days that isn’t even that long ago, but I did seem to have caught a sort of Evangelism bug or just simply doing what everyone who has sincerely thought about the implications of the Gospel truth they now posses regardless of what simply minded folks want to label Good news gossiping. Proselytising isn’t evil.

Anyway my point is, I had a zeal for telling of the Christ, though I like to think it hasn’t gone away, I guess it has just become more normal or maybe not. My efforts was aided by an older Christian who supplied tracts that I gave with fear and trepidation on my weekly train journey from Slough to Bristol.

Then I later thought that the Gospel has so much more to it than can be condensed into tracts, I guess that’s when I favoured the more personal sort of evangelism, the getting to know people, I didn’t like that I didn’t get to see the fruits of what I laboured for, if the Gospel really had power to change, I had to see it, and I did.

The other thing I did was hand write notes with a few lines and place them in places I journeyed, train stations, buses, bus stops, trains, toilets. A lot of random notes that I wasn’t sure anybody got or even read but I still felt that the personal touch made more sense since the message required a personal response, therefore a generic typed message might be less effective. Evangelism is another one of the basics of Christianity that I hope I’d be exploring more this year, though I won’t quite call it a resolution, rather a prayer to God that He’ll enable me to do that which is naturally required of me, since I know something of lights and bushels.

Below are what some of these notes read:

WE DECLARE TO YOU THAT WHICH WE HEARD, SAW HIM WITH OWN EYES, TOUCHED HIM WITH OUR HANDS – 1 John 1:1

READ THE REST OF JOHN’S LETTER AND DECIDE FOR YOURSELF.

WHO IS JESUS CHRIST?

or this

THE CHANCES OF YOU DYING IS 100%. FOR NO ONE HAS YET FOUND THE HOLY GRAIL, FOR IT IS APPOINTED FOR MAN TO LIVE ONCE AFTER THAT JUDGEMENT.

VERDICT: ETERNAL LIFE or ETERNAL DEATH (a.k.a Hell)

THE ETERNAL DEITY THOUGH DIED SO THAT ANY THAT BELIEVE OURS AND THE BIBLE’S TESTIMONY OF HIM WILL HAVE ETERNAL LIFE.

DO YOU BELIEVE NOW OR WOULD YOU RATHER WAIT FOR THE EVENTUAL?

and this

THE GOSPEL IS GOOD NEWS INDEED, FOR THE MAN WHO HAS NO DEEDS TO PLEAD, FOR THE HANDS THAT DO THEM ARE TAINTED, SO TO THE LORD THEY ARE LIKE FILTHY RAGS.

…BUT CHRIST CAME TO LIVE RIGHTEOUSLY AND HE CREDITS THIS TO ANY WHO WOULD BELIEVE HIM.

TRUST HIM FOR YOUR RIGHT STANDING WITH GOD OR PRESENT TO HIM YOUR DIRTY LAUNDRY.

Now you’d think what I mean by ‘common with Spurgeon’ is that he too had a zeal for Evangelism. Well, he sure did but a while after I stopped leaving random notes around I read somewhere (a blog I think) that Spurgeon did the same as I did or that I did as he did. He writes:

“The very first service which my youthful heart rendered to Christ was the placing of tracts in envelopes, and then sealing them up, that I might send them. . . . I might have done nothing for Christ if I had not been encouraged by finding myself able to do a little. Then I sought to do something more, and from that something more, and I do not doubt that many servants of God have been led on to higher and nobler labours for their Lord, because they began to serve Him in the right spirit and manner. . . . I used to write texts on little scraps of paper, and drop them anywhere, that some poor creatures might pick them up, and receive them as messages of mercy to their souls”

I remember this as we start the year because this year I wish to go back to the works I did at first, I feel that though I’ve made much progress, I’ve been neglecting the very basic things like regular prayer, Bible reading and of course Evangelism. Seem to be a season for relearning the basics.

Leave a Reply

