Hermeneutics Activity 1.1

Thoughts and Presuppositions about Scripture

As a person who grew up in the Church not just as an occasional participant in Sunday worship but as part of a family that made church attendance compulsory, the scriptures, specifically the combination of the old and new testament books that form the Christian Bible has been considered sacred both prior to my conversion and it still remains the same post conversion.

Although prior to my conversion, the Bible held a similar place to my view of God himself in that I saw both him and his word as wholly transcendent, without fully grasping the immanent nature of his character ultimately displayed in the incarnation of Christ. The scripture to me then spoke much about the awe/majesty of God and what he demands of us, which try as I may could not meet. This fixation on the moralistic aspect of it led me to miss out on what could have drawn me closer to the fire that does not burn the bush. This defective view of God/Scripture also led to an Islamic view of grace i.e. God knows of my weakness and therefore my not meeting his standards does not make me deserving of hell because He judges on my attempts at righteousness rather than the fulfillment of it.

Post conversion however, the Bible became more than just that book we read at family devotions and at Church but a Lamp, Light and a much more personal communication of what the Triune God has to say to me in the here and now. Although, my view is still being fleshed out in more concrete terms, what has changed post conversion has been my relationship to it, by drawer closer to it, I have found myself drawing closer to him. He is now not only lofty but is close and communicative.

There is also an exciting discovery I have lately made about the scriptures concerning how it not only speaks about spiritual matters but that it can be applied to all avenues of life. The more exciting of these being the realm of politics, ethics and education.

My view of the nature of the Scripture has also been been fleshed out in the midst of my thinking on Apologetics. The objections raised about it by secularist have led me too to think about what I mean when I ascribe divinity to the words of the Bible, yet acknowledge that the Authors are essentially human.

My reading of the Bible, in the early days were mostly devotional, that later on became reading whole chunks of it at a time eventually reading through the whole of it, later on I then began to study the individual books more closely which meant reading at a much more slower pace. I currently now do all of the above, as I have found all of the methods beneficial depending on what my goal is. For overview, I favour chunks, study means a slower pace.

Reading Ezekiel recently has showed to me just how far removed from the biblical context I am, especially the language in the case of Ezekiel but also trying to get a picture of the historical context the book was written in. The book of revelation has also been particularly challenging as it frequently alludes to Old Testament imagery I am unaware of.

To simply quote 2Timothy3:16 will not do enough justice to what the Scripture are to me but if I was to simply summarise. The Scripture are to me the means by which the creator has communicated about Himself historically which ultimately culminates in the coming of the visible image of God himself, Jesus Christ which then points us to the salvific nature of the word and the Word. Much more can be said but this will be enough for now.

Leave a Reply

